Back in the Swarthmore swing

I am, at long last, back at Swarthmore, and classes begin tomorrow. Well, they officially begin tomorrow, but I have something of an unconventional schedule in that I’m taking two Honors seminars and two directed readings. So while I have extremely long course meetings on Wednesday and Thursday and need to set up time to meet with my professors for the directed readings (likely on Fridays), I don’t have class tomorrow. Such is the flexibility of senior year.

However, tomorrow is already shaping up to be busy. I’ll be stopping by the Alumni Bulletin Office to arrange this semester’s work schedule with my boss (likely not Wednesdays or Thursdays). Since last fall, I’ve been interning with the Bulletin, where I assist with a variety of tasks like copyediting, fact-checking, and some article writing. One of the Bulletin writers contacted me to say she was “greedily” awaiting the return of her interns—which probably means there is a lot of fact-checking to do before the October issue comes out.

I also have several meetings with other students to attend—one meeting to chat with the other student who will be sitting with me on the Educational Policy Committee this semester and another to touch-base with some fellow editors on our new alternative campus newspaper The Swarthmore Independent.

From there, I plan on mapping out some fresh running routes around campus and town and in Swarthmore’s Crum Woods to keep up my training regimen before the Philly Half Marathon, which is in—yikes!—2 weeks.

Tomorrow will also be the day to start my Honors readings. For my Wednesday seminar, Democratic Theory, I need to re-read most of Robert Putnam’s famous political science book, Bowling Alone, along with a few chapters from my professor’s own book, titled Attention Deficit Democracy. As you might guess, this is a politics seminar. As for my Shakespeare class, I’ll need to read Richard III and a few articles.

I’m excited to get back to the meetings, the readings, and the general Swarthmore swing of things.

Categories: Swarthmore students | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Back in the Swarthmore swing

  1. Peter Mulhern

    Your blog is admirably free from any hint of bitterness about the treatment you experienced last May or Swarthmore’s general hostility to your political outlook. You seem adept at emphasizing the good in your circumstances and minimizing the bad. This is a valuable talent. It will serve you well.

    I wonder, however, if you would advise other conservative-minded students to follow in your footsteps at Swarthmore. This isn’t just idle curiosity on my part. My daughter Meghan is a high school senior with excellent credentials. She wants to go to a small liberal arts college. Her interests focus mainly on Economics and Political Science. Swarthmore is attractive for many reasons. For one thing, it is much closer to home than any of the alternatives. I fear that the political environment would be unpleasantly hostile for her. The ISI college guide raises questions but doesn’t make the answers entirely clear.

    Meg has gone to a left-leaning private high school so she has some experience of life as a conservative insurgent. Even so, the odds at Swarthmore might be a bit too daunting. You seem to be thriving on the guerrilla lifestyle. Would you recommend it to others?

  2. Danielle Charette

    Hi Peter. Thank you for the feedback. If you email me at dcharet1@swarthmore.edu I’d be happy to answer some of your questions and offer my perspective on Econ/Poli Sci at Swarthmore.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

